Magnificat, BWV 243 - Vocal score

Magnificat, BWV 243 - Vocal score

  • $19.52
  • Save $8.54
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Publish Date: 2012-12-04

Attention : For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Unabridged digitally enhanced reissue of the vocal score prepared by musicologist Karl Straube and published by C.F. Peters, Leipzig in the early 20th century. Bach composed the initial version in E-flat major in 1723 for the Christmas Vespers service in Leipzig which contained several Christmas texts. Over the years he removed the Christmas-specific texts to make the work suitable for year-round performance, transposing it into D major to provide better sonority for the trumpets. The work is divided into twelve parts which can be grouped into three movements, each beginning with an aria and completed by the choir. This large-format, easy-to-read vocal score, a welcome addition to the libraries of choruses and orchestras everywhere, is completely compatible with the widely available orchestra material reprinted by E. F. Kalmus.

1. Magnificat Anima Mea (Coro)
2. Et Exultavit (Aria)
3. Quia Respexit (Aria)
4. Omnes Generationes (Coro)
5. Quia Fecit Mihi Magna (Aria)
6. Et Misericordia (Duetto)
7. Fecit Potentiam (Coro)
8. Deposuit (Aria)
9. Esurientes (Aria)
10. Suscepit Israel (Terzetto)
11. Sicut Locutus (Coro)
12. Gloria Patri (Coro)

Customer Reviews